Testimonials

I had the Tomato Risotto with Filet Medallions special for dinner on Saturday and it was amazing!!

Julie H.

My wife and I just wanted to thank you for a very enjoyable evening on Tuesday June 21 from the food to the Q&A with Kelly Faris and Morgan Tuck. They represent the State of Connecticut, the Univerdity and Geno and his staff to a level that should make us proud to say we are from Connecticut and fans of UConn basketball.

John & Pat

Finally had dinner at Genos. Great food, great atmosphere, great service ... first visit to see granddaughter Natalie play for UCONN :-)

Margot B.

Via Trip Advisor

“PERFECT Italian restaurant”

The gnocchi with pesto are superb. Daily specials are creative and fresh. Our group LOVES Geno's. Terrific staff, excellent wine list.

Ann M8/11/2015 San Francisco, California

“We’ll be back!”

First, it's August. Uconn is not in session. We arrived mid-week at about 6pm. Not crowded at all. A beautiful evening so we sat outdoors. Wait staff was cordial and quick. Food was served in a reasonable amount of time. Try the lamb with fig sauce!!!!

MGB1838/12/2015 Bristol, CT

Via Trip Advisor

“Evening Out”

Arrived here on a Thursday night for a late dinner. We were able to sit outside and the weather was very nice. Service was fairly good and the food was great. I Had veal Piccata and Marsala. Both served with a pasta side. The sauce accompanying the main meals was very tasty and the sauce on the pasta was very good. No complaints, great meal in nice setting "al fresco". This is a fairly small place so reservations are a good idea.

Ctree318/29/2015 CT

Via Trip Advisor

“Finally a good place to at Uconn”

Our daughter graduated from Uconn in 2014 and every time we were visiting her it was a nightmare to find a good place to have dinner or lunch. Now, our son is there and we can finally enjoy a good restaurant when we visit him. Good food, nice decor and outdoor tables, good service.

Isabelle M9/6/2015

Via Trip Advisor

“Outdoor space and service were great”

We were in town for the UCMB preview show during Labor Day weekend. We were able to secure a last minute reservation for dinner and had an all around great dining experience.

Ample free parking is located around the corner. We asked for a table outside and the staff delivered. Although breezy, it was a great place to people watch.

Complementary bread and hummus were delicious. Our waitress was very personable and always available for requests. Our family of 4 was very happy with the portion sizes (and gluten free options). Diverse menu and wine offerings.

I love the way they've built up this area of campus and think Geno's is perfect for "nicer" dinners - a step up from the great burger place next door.

HillyD249/7/2015 New York, NY

Via Trip Advisor

“Excellent Italian Cuisine”

We have been to Geno's Grille several times. Owned by the famous women's college basketball coach, Geno Auriemma, how could it not be a winner? The food is always excellent! The ricotta gnocchi is to die for! My father-in-law (who finds fault in everything) loved the lasagna. "It's the best he's ever eaten!" You won't be disappointed.

SharSic9/15/2015

Via Trip Advisor

“Excellent Choice in Storrs”

We typically eat at Geno’s whenever in Storrs and have never been disappointed with either the food or the service. The entrees as well as the burgers have all been very good. I recommend the meatball or calamari appetizers. The chicken parmesan, steak and clams with linguini were all excellent. Well worth the visit and we will be back again in the near future. Suggest reservations, particularly on busy UConn weekends.

OnTheWayNJ9/26/2015 New York City, New York

Via Trip Advisor

“Lovely atmosphere with creative Italian”

We rolled into town to check UCONN out before a tour the next day. We we're exhausted from days on the road during a college tour. They seated us quickly, servers were helpful and accommodating. We were served warm bread and the spread of the evening-ricotta, strawberry, cilantro with olive oil and dots of aged balsamic. I was skeptical of the cilantro but it worked so incredibly well. We enjoyed the risotto with meatballs and the lasagna Bolognese. It was a wonderful homey comforting meal after days of travel. I highly recommend!

Foodiegirl6259/29/2015 Wells, Maine

Via Trip Advisor

“Very good restaurant”

This is a very good restaurant. Definitely go there if you’re to have a dinner in Storrs…

Alexander T10/6/2015

Via Trip Advisor

“Great food. Perfect place for you to get your parents to take you for a special occasion when they visit”

The food is delicious… The closest to fine dining we have on campus. Perfect for a special occasion when the parents are up visiting and paying.

Erin S10/13/2015

Via Trip Advisor

“Very Good Restaurant”

A pleasure to have such a good place to dine at Uconn. The food is excellent and the staff are just as nice.

Kim B10/16/2015

Via Trip Advisor

“Informal and pleasant”

Good burgers and salads in a pleasant sit down atmosphere. We did not try the Italian food but it looked good .This is a great place to go if you are going to the Connecticut Repertory Theatre because it is right across the street.

Jaye H10/21/2015 West Hartford, Connecticut

Via Trip Advisor

“Delicious Italian food”

So many celebrity restaurants rely on the fame of the name. Not so here. The Italian entrees we enjoyed were not only delicious, they definitely were reminiscent of an old family recipe someone had shared. The portions are very generous… The server was knowledgeable and very pleasant. It was a delightful experience.

Dzi61411/2/2015 Marion, Ohio

Via Trip Advisor

“Reliably good, well-trained staff”

Geno's has become one of our favorite restaurants for dinner. The setting is pleasant, informal but nice enough for a special occasion dinner. The food is always reliably good and the staff are well trained. They are always able to describe the items on the menu, obviously have sampled all of the dishes. When we've asked about specific wines, the servers have always been able to provide good descriptions and guidance. We usually order from the specials menu and one favorite is whatever risotto is offered that evening. When we've had special requests for a risotto that wasn't on the menu, the chef has created an alternative. We like Geno's Grille… We especially enjoy the French press coffee, and the huge chocolate cake slice really is that good and feeds 4!

WinterHarborHouse11/16/2015 Winter Harbor, Maine

Via Trip Advisor

“Excellent”

Came here with my family on a crisp November afternoon! Our waiter Brad was extremely friendly, and on top of his game. The pasta fagioli and the grilled chicken sandwich were phenomenal with a great pesto! Highly recommend!

TJ C11/16/2014

Via Yelp

Great food and service. We decided to check out Geno's before a UCONN game and the food was fantastic. Will definitely go back next time we're in Storrs.

Amie W.2/5/2015 Essex, VT

Via Yelp

My husband and I stopped at Geno's a few weekends ago to grab some food before heading to visit my grandparents in CT. So this was our first time at the restaurant and it was great. The price point was reasonable and the atmosphere was a classy. A very good beer and wine list to top off their really authentic Italian menu. The bread was served warm with a delicious spread. I got the chicken pizza--highly recommend! My husband got the gnocchi which we both enjoyed! We'll definitely be stopping by again!

Shayna S.2/9/2015 Wayland, MA

Via Yelp

My friends and I went to Geno's a few weekends ago to eat a snack before the game against Cincinnati--it was the first time I've been to the restaurant and I was really impressed. For the price point, which is reasonable and not too expensive, the atmosphere was classy and the waiters were well dressed. Geno's beer and wine selection compliments their authentic Italian menu well. The bread had a soft and tender texture that melted in my mouth. We shared the sea scallop and garlic & rosemary roasted chicken pizza. We loved the excellent flavor combination of crushed tomato sauce, bacon, and ranch & mozzarella from the sea scallop pizza. The roasted chicken immersed in the ricotta on the other pizza was to die for! We had to head out early for the game and didn't have time for dessert, but I'll definitely be going back to Geno's soon!

Janice V.3/10/2015 Gaithersburg, MD

Via Yelp

Great service and good food. The arugula salad is yummy! Portions were also very good.

Maddy D.8/22/2015 Danbury, CT

Via Yelp

We were served a chickpea dip with bread and olive oil. The fried artichoke appetizer was crispy, light and fresh - three pieces per serving. My son had a salad which was also very good. Orechiette Bolognese is a huge portion of pasta with lots of meat and flavor - easily shared as an entree for two or appetizer for four. I saw other food being served - portions were huge- pasta fagioli, chicken parm, and gnocchi.

Lisa C.10/5/2015 Southbury, CT

Via Yelp



I came here with a business associate at his suggestion and we weren't disappointed. We were met at the entrance and greeted immediately by the hostess and seated at a half booth. Our server came and took our drink order and brought us some fresh bread and herbed oil. The bread was thick cut, soft Italian with a dark seeded crust it was fresh and enjoyable…. I ordered the seafood pasta which included small penne pasta (cooked perfectly) nice tail on shrimp, scallops, and mussels in a red sauce with capers and olives… My friend ordered the Chicken Parmesan served with linguine, he said it was as good as it looked and it really looked great the presentation was perfect.



Overall we were very happy with the choice to dine here and I definitely would return, the staff was very professional and very attentive they offer a nice seating area at the bar the lighting is great as is the decor. Solid value in my opinion.

Dave O.6/8/2014 New Shmyrna Beach, FL

Via Yelp

The salad with the Salmon was both good looking, and yummy, Geno is not cheap with fish quality. The basic Caesar salad is very fresh, and so was the chicken sandwich… Deserts are worth it and the lava cake was a killer. A good choice overall…

Nixo A.10/26/2015 Westport, CT

via TripAdvisor
"Great Italian Restaurant"
Awesome Italian restaurant in a great area. Food is delicious and reasonably priced. I had the Arancini Di Riso to start and ordered their Seafood Linguine which were both amazing!! Our waiter was very friendly and our food came out pretty quickly. Be sure to try their wine too! I will definitely return!

Danielle M.Newton, MA 6/29/2015

via TripAdvisor
"We had excellent food!"
We had excellent food and I would definitely go back again. If you're hoping to avoid the kind of "fast food" options in the immediate area, this would be a good place to consider.

KraZ4foodQuiet Corner, CT 7/1/2015

via TripAdvisor
"Sunday evening dinner was good and relatively quiet."
Four of us dropped in for dinner and greatly enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The women's soccer finals were on and we were able to see the highlights of the first half while munching on sturdy, rustic bread with a special tapenade of the day. Yummy! Between the 4 of us we ordered Carbonara, lasagna, and a burger. We were all very happy with our meals. Oh, and the tiramisu was VERY good!

Treehugger14625Rochester, NY 7/7/2015

via TripAdvisor
"We came back :)"
Here again for the baseball clinic and went down with a group of 7 for dinner... it was another great meal. We all had hearty portions and the teenagers seemed very happy with their dinners as well (each had a clean plate). Worth the stop if you ask me!

maestra611New Milford, CT 7/7/2015

via Yelp
Geno's is great for Storrs. Was greeted immediately by very friendly hostesses, server Brandon was extremely affable. They served warm bread with a ricotta mix spread in extra virgin olive oil, delicious. They had quite of few specials, I had the Guinness battered cod, very crispy and good. Very lively scene, nice bar area too.

Park S.New York City, NY 6/22/2015

via Yelp
I have now been to both restaurant locations (Geno has another Grille location in Southington), and both are awesome. At the Southington location I had the Penne Vodka which was as good as it gets, but I decided to try the pizza at the Storrs location. Again, as good as it gets. Great price, great food, friendly staff.

Dan K.Sunnyvale, CA 7/6/2015

via Facebook

Great lunch. Quick and real good. Service was quick and friendly, and my child could get a picture with the NCAA trophy while waiting

Geoffrey Ambrose6/6/2015

via TripAdvisor

Nice Surprise

It is a pleasant looking restaurant and the noise level was quite good. We shared the bruschetta selection for the day as an appetizer. It was delightful. Lightly toasted bread with flavorful, spring combo drizzled with a very good Balsamic. My wife ordered the Carbonara and I had the beef Bolognese with Orecchiette. Both were excellent. The linguine in the Carbonara was freshly made and cooked al dente. The peas were fresh and sweet. It was very tasty. My Bolognese was delicious. A hearty sauce that was not too sweet and not too acidy. The portions were more than adequate and we both brought home at least half the serving.

For dessert we shared the cannoli. It is listed as the chef's selection and that day it was a cannoli with small chocolate chips. It was served with a large dollop of whipped cream and four large blackberries. It was good, not overly sweet.

The coffee was served in a French press and it was, of course, freshly made. It was a very pleasant end to the meal.

The service was fine. Admittedly the restaurant was not crowded (it was a Sunday and school was not in session) but it was totally empty. Perhaps the staff has improved, but we found no fault in the food or the service. It was all quite good.

MeridenTravelers6/8/2015

via Yelp

The food is fancy but the restaurant comes across as somewhat casual. I recommend Shrimp Scampi, Chicken Parm, and Carbonara

Derek M6/1/2015

Just a short note to say Thank You to you and Geno’s for an exceptional Graduation lunch. The menu was outstanding, the food wonderful and the service terrific! It made our day even more special.

Bill Casey5/13/2015

Our second visit was...quite an enjoyable meal. We stopped before going to the UConn women's basketball game and the restaurant was understandably busy. We waited at the bar for our table and were promptly seated when it was ready. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. Our margherita pizza was excellent and our Super Tuscan wine selection was superb and reasonably priced. ...It will not keep us from trying something different and giving the place another try since the experience was wonderful...

WinesnNorwood, MA
March 2015

We just had a very nice dining experience at Geno's in Storrs. The service and food were excellent. We were allowed to substitute risotto for a small upcharge but it was worth it. As always, an excellent choice of wines (some of the best in the area). Dinner was relaxed and leisurely and we finished off with a phenomenal chocolate cake shared by 4 with enough to bring home to my daughter. We will definitely go back.

Kate SColumbia, CT
March 2015

“Visiting Storrs on business, a good place to chill out and have a good meal”
At the end of a long day of meetings, I dropped by Geno's on the recommendation of a local. He had told me that the place has good food (true) and that the wines made by the owner are really good (also true). I enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere, the excellent service, and the multiple screens for watching sports...

PicaPauAdmirerAtlanta, Georgia
March 20, 2015

“A Slam Dunk! ”
I'm not as big a basketball fan as others in my family, but you don't need to be on order to enjoy this new addition to Storrs. It's perfect for visiting parents, couples and family. Loved the crusty bread, olive oil and artichoke tapenade served immediately. And menu choices made everyone in our group of 7 happy. Arugula salad was delicious and really liked my chicken piccata. And the chocolate cake slice served all 7 of us, with some left over! Go, Geno! !

Karen CTucson, Arizona
March 12, 2015

“I would absolutely return.”

Went to Geno's a few weeks ago while visiting family in the Storrs area. My friend is really info basketball and always wanted to check out Geno's because of the UConn Women's BBall team and it was a pretty good experience!

The atmosphere was casual but I could definitely see myself going on a romantic date there. The food very delicious and I think it was appropriately priced for the taste and portion size you get. I love gnocchi and I've eaten it at a bunch of Italian places in the Northend in Boston, but the Geno's gnocchi was definitely up there! It was really light and the sauce was delicious.

JnowitzBoston, Massachusetts
March 11, 2015

“One more thing Geno is famous for-”
A nice addition to the new Storrs Downtown, our campus now has a real italian restaurant, and a great place to have a special meal. Mangia!

MC HEuclid, Ohio
March 5, 2015

“Great for a Visit”

Our son goes to UConn, so it is nice to have a place to eat some really good food when we go to visit him (of course he enjoys it!!). The staff is friendly and there is a nice atmosphere. Definitely get a reservation if you have a party larger than 3!!

Gene AWest Simsbury, Connecticut
February 24, 2015

“Wonderful food delightful service” I have been hearing about Geno's Grille for a long, long time so my husband and I ventured up to Storrs to check it out for ourselves at lunch time.

We were greeted by friendly staff, warm Italian bread and a white bean spread that was delightful.

My husband had a Panini with fries - cooked just the way he likes them while I had pasta and sauce. For an appetizer we had the meatballs. They were unbelievable. Probably the best I have ever had. Enough food for me to take some home for dinner.

The Prosecco I had was lovely - wish I had made note of what kind it was.

Will definitely go there again the next time I am up in the UCONN area.

cab514Simsbury, Connecticut
February 21, 2015

Been to your restaurant in Storrs since our last visit. Brittany and staff continue to offer a wonderful experience for your patrons. We have really enjoyed the food, experience, and the wonderful service! I just wanted to pass this along because we really love going there. We will continue to be very supportive patrons. All the best and have a great weekend! Go Huskies!

Beth

A big "thank you" to you and your staff for such an outstanding dining experience last Saturday at Geno's Grille. Our meals - from the awesome apps (especially the artichoke, eggplant rollatini and arancini di riso that we shared) to the entree and dessert were absolutely delicious! Merely thinking about the carbonara makes my mouth water.

Our waiter, Michael, treated our party with professionalism and a friendly attitude - a great balance of the two. He was the best!

It's food and service like we experienced at Geno's that will keep us coming back again and again as well as sharing with others. You can count on all of us singing your praises to others!

Again, thank you so much. I look forward to another visit soon!

P.S. Our compliments to the chef!

Beth, 3-3-2015

Went to Geno's a few weeks ago while visiting family in the Storrs area. My friend is really into basketball and always wanted to check out Geno's because of the UConn Women's BBall team and its a pretty good experience! The atmosphere was casual but I could definitely see myself going on a romantic date there. The food very delicious and I think it was appropriately priced for the taste and portion size you get. I love gnocchi and I've eaten it at a bunch of Italian places in the Northend in Boston, but the Geno's gnocchi was definitely up there! It was really light and the sauce was delicious. I would absolutely return.

Josefine Nowitz

Being a die hard chocolate lover, we went to Geno's for dinner first, but saved room for the famous chocolate cake. Dinner was great, loved the lasagna - you could tell it was fresh and homemade. We all shared the chocolate cake and it was worth the wait - amazing!

Sbsantoro

My friends and I went to Geno’s a few weekends ago to grab some food before the game against Cincinnati—it was the first time I’ve been to the restaurant and I was really impressed. For the price point, which is reasonable and not too expensive, the atmosphere was classy and the waiters were well dressed. Geno’s has a pretty good beer and wine list to top off their authentic Italian menu. The bread was served warm with a delicious spread. I got the chicken pizza—highly recommend! My friends got the gnocchi and the Bolognese, great reviews all around. We had to head out early for the game and didn’t have time for dessert, but I’ll definitely be going back to Geno’s soon!

Amanda-Gundell

Nice, clean, attractive place. The food was delicious. Loved the meatballs. Everyone was happy. Reasonable prices. I would go back.

Jaredsparks

Very good. Just like the team. Very well managed - Staff is exceptionally friendly and wants to make this a great experience. Most places owned by Sports legends rely solely upon name appeal to draw customers. Geno's does just the opposite, the name comes way after quality food and service. reasonable... Give it a try, you will score many baskets.

Eric HSouthbury, Connecticut

Worth a visit if you're a local. We went to Geno's on a snowy Saturday night at around 7:30. There are plenty of tv's to occupy your attention around the bar. We sat in the bar area and the bartender was nice enough to change to tv to a basketball game we wanted to watch. I order the house Cosmo. I'm a bit of a connoisseur and the $13 price tag is decent in the area if you use a good vodka... My husband got the chicken parm sandwich...a good value. I got the lasagna which would not have been a large enough portion except I ordered a salad to go with it (cost additional). So, I rated the value because of the and the cocktail. The atmosphere is nice because it has a bistro feel and it's not too loud...This is a good occasional place to go if you are a local.

Jennifer W

Finally decided to try out Geno's in the new Storrs downtown center. The bar is nice with 3 large TV screens but only seats about 12 people. We sat at one of the booths near the bar but not in the dining room...I had linguine with white clam sauce...My husband had lasagna, which he said was very good and our friends had chicken parm. They say they get it all the time because they love it...The wait staff was attentive and very pleasant. We will go back but probably to see a game at the bar.

CtIslandgirlCt

Basketball heaven. Besides the delicious Italian entrees, one can view the NCAA womens national championship basketball trophy, as you walk in!

Elizabeth AStorrs, Connecticut

Nice bite. Stopped on the way home from the office late. Sat at the bar, which was surprisingly bright. Ordered a glass of the house red. It cost $6, not a generous pour of Cab but it was smoother than most house wines I've had. The menu was varied both in size and palette (savory, hearty, salty, doughy, meaty, simple, complex, etc). I wanted a light bite so I ordered the PEI mussels. The tomato sauce with onion and chili was flavorful and light. I didn't taste the chili though. And unlike other plates of mussels I've had these had no trace of grit. The plate came with two large pieces of grilled bread, which rounded out the meal quite nicely. I was able to sop up all the juice and it provided a nice crunchy textural contrast. The serving was generous for an appetizer. And at only 9$ it served as an inexpensive dinner. The value is definitely appealing. I'll return to try the gnocchi and cheese plates for sure.

stephbero

Good Lunch. My wife and I dropped by for a birthday lunch, our first visit to this restaurant in the new Town Center at Storrs, CT. The lunch menu was varied with tough decisions to be made because the entrees all sounded good. Being a bread fan, I can report the Tuscan bread was awesome. I had one of the veal scallopini selections and was pleased with the choice. The atmosphere on a weekday at noon was downright quiet, but I can see this could be quite different at other times of day.

CTStachTolland, CT

And he coaches basketball too...A bunch of us (15 or so) decided to go out for a Holiday lunch and picked Geno's because...well... we had never been there. We made reservations in advance. Excellent food, superb service from a cheerful waitstaff. We ate a variety of different things off the menu including pizzas and sandwiches and salads. All were excellent and everyone walked out...

Steven KNew Haven, Connecticut

Having been three times I can honestly say that everything we have ordered, from drinks, to entrees, to dessert, etc. has been fantastic. Atmosphere is great, leans a little upscale, quieter than most casuasl, competitive prices, with warm and friendly customers. Our favorites include the pasta fagioli, chicken parm, white clam sauce over linguine, the meatballs, bolognese, and the attention grabbing humongous order of chocolate cake that served our four and then some! Oh, the countless baby clams covered the generous bowl of pasta!

On our first visit in the fall of 2013, we wanted to try the meatballs, but I guess Geno's mom was not in the kitchen, as they were just making them, mid afternoon (LOL)...

Thomas W.Meriden, CT

Went here for a bachelorette party extravaganza and was really pleased! The dip they brought with the bread was ridiculously good and they have a nice wine list. The bread tasted homemade and had a nice crust on it. I loved their selection of specials. We tried the risotto, which was cooked pretty nicely and had great flavor. We also had one of the pizza specials, the bolognese, and the gnocchi. I was surprised how light and airy the gnocchi was. Usually when you have gnocchi at a restaurant it is hard and heavy. The sauce on the gnocchi was a beautiful fresh tomato sauce. The bolognese was well prepared... I love that they topped it with ricotta!!!!

Leah M.Bolton, CT

Nice Atmosphere/Friendly Staff. Did not have a lot of time so opted to sit at bar and have a pizza and beer.

The staff was very friendly and the restaurant set up very nice.

The pizza was good, Looked at the menu and it was varied with a lot of different choices and something for every taste.

Price wise - definetly not what you would expect in a college town - I guess the students are not their target customer.

Would probably try again if in the area.

cttraveller67Fairfield, Connecticut

There are a number of good eateries in this block just outside of the UConn campus. We chose Geno's as it had a cosmopolitan feel to it which seemed interesting for a college town. The deco was modern, crisp, clean and, at the same, time had a sport bar-ish feel to it with Coach Geno in display with sports TV is tasteful view.

The food was quite good and we visited twice. The boys tried the hamburger & chicken tenders (safe bets for kids). I nimble a bit and was impressed. My wife & I more 'sophisticated' fare and were not disappointed both in taste and presentation.

This is a must visit if you miss the city or want something a bit upscale.

Michael G.Westport, CT

We brought friends from Boston who have often treated us to great meals at their neighborhood bistros and we are confident we returned the favor in comparable fashion. All of our meals at Geno's were enjoyed thoroughly. As first courses, Pasta Fagioli was exceptional; Sausage Cacciatore was unexpected (in being a cold dish) and delightful; two of us enjoyed the Salad Special. The entrees were quite good: The Branzoni (with hericots verts, tomatoes, and roast potatoes) was wonderfully complex, the gnocchi was perfectly done and nicely sauced, the saltimbocca was right on point, and the New York Strip was juicy and flavorful. Portions were ample (the steak and veal yielded welcome Doggie Bags, the bass and pasta were comfortably enough). Servers were attentive without hovering. Beer choices include some great American ales and IPAs. The wine range is extensive and fits many price points. Indeed, the price of everything seemed appropriate to the quality...Overall, we're glad we tried Geno's and we will return.

View on Urbanspoon

LenaDINER FROM HARTFORD

Love the bread, crust is awesome. Spread is always unusual and tasty. Staff is super friendly and place is busy with good people watching. Food is not standard fare and is well prepared. Most items are a little heavy for me, so I try to select wisely.

View on TripAdvisor

terryw678Holland, MA

Well, I confess to having won a gift certificate to dinner at this reasonably new restaurant. So I don't think my judgement will have been unduly influenced thereby notwithstanding.

Honestly I was not expecting much. But I was pleasantly surprised. It is well worth stopping. The cooking is done with great attention and modern presentation.

I don't ride the UCONN bandwagon; there! I have said it. Now with that off the chest, I am uneasy about the pandemic, loud sports-drum banging across the state about the teams - but especially the fervid mania in its surrounding towns and counties; and I do feel shortchanged since I would prefer to see my taxes fund something more academically worthwhile; but also having lived in the area so long, I understand being entirely in the minority. I guess I was expecting a restaurant named Geno's (for Mr. Auriemma) would be flying the banner high and loud. But it does not; the décor is simple, subtle and tasteful.

The restaurant is moderately sized, modern yet comfortable. It is not exactly 'student cafeteria' [as was one reviewer's opinion]; but it is plain and streamlined. Some of the clientele seem too casually dressed, running shorts, sweats, pajamas and slippers for my taste but this atmosphere belies the complexity, the seriousness of the preparation of the food.

Our impeccably professionally dressed waiter...was exceptionally attentive - but only when he was needed; no hovering, no score-carding the experience every 3 minutes... Apparently a job taken very seriously and it shows off well.

A reasonably serious winelist.

A fried artichoke appetizer was a nice preparation.

A special of the evening was chicken with vinegar peppers over lentils cooked with sausage. I have made something like this myself for many years because it was favorite Italian preparation in my family; it works well with pork chops too - which is the recipe I grew up with. The preparation at Geno's was sublime, just enough vinegar in the sauce to sparkle but not enough to make your mouth purse up. The chicken was succulent; the lentils perfect. I found myself eating slowly to savor each mouthful as long as possible.

My partner had salmon grilled on a cedar plank which was cooked to order (and to perfection).

We really really really thought the food was the nicest we have had in the area in quite some time. This is no cafeteria.

The 'frosting on the cake' - without the pun - was a huge wedge of deadly chocolate cake at dessert which was 10 inches tall and which subtended an arc of probably 6 inches... It could have fed 5 people. In fact, we were given the left-over in a shopping bag instead of a doggie bag to bring home.

We will go again for sure; we hope the work is sustained. Lepri's - there is competition in the neighborhood.

View on TripAdvisor

KevinT06226Willington, CT

Great atmosphere and the food was great. We have been many times and have enjoyed every meal. The ravioli is a family favorite.

HappyhillcapecodHartford, CT

This place was great. I ordered the chicken pizza. The crust was perfect. We also had a pasta special. The mascarpone sauce was delicious and the rigatoni was cooked perfectly. The meatballs were to die for. Will definitely come back.

Melissa L.Ellington, CT

What a great place to eat on a fall day near the UCONN campus. They have a nice menu, a small outdoor eating area, and a nice view of the chef and kitchen crew making the meals. The staff was very friendly and the service was quick. The fried calamari was perfectly fried and received two choices of sauce. My ceasar salad was drenched with an abundant amount of dressing. The Specials Menu looked interesting (only wanted to eat light as it was lunch). ...I found out that Geno himself came in an hour after we had left.

Cindy M.Montville, CT

This is a classic upscale Italian restaurant. Whether you are looking for drinks and apps in the small bar area, a romantic dinner for two, or a family sit down, you should not be disappointed at Geno's. I suspect some of the less positive reviews might have been from visitors from Tennessee, or maybe New Jersey!

Anyway, if you are in the area check it out, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Perry W. Caldwell

This email is in regards to Brittany at Storrs Center Geno's. We have been weekly customers at Geno's since day one, we love everything but what makes Geno's top notch is Brittany along with her amazing staff. Brittany is nonstop movement making sure all is right with the patron, smiling, serving, making all feel right at home. When we enter the restaurant we are greeted with warm friendly smiles and personal greetings! As 60 year residents of Storrs we are thrilled to have Geno's in our neighborhood. There are many fine locations close by when choosing where to eat out but your staff exceeds them all!

We thank you for Brittany - Geno's would not be our 3 times a week dinner choice and business lunch/dinner choice if not for such an amazing manager and the staff she oversees.

Regards -

Mike and Wendy

...Geno's has kicked it up a notch. Service is much better, food was very good. ...brought friends with us...they loved it, we were impressed. A bright spot in Storrs.

Rob M.

This is a great addition to Storrs; it's so nice to go out for something more than Friendly's. The wait staff was helpful and chatty, the food was ample, and the wine list hit all of the bases.

Kari H.

...four stars...due to the excellent service and great location. Great dishes: 1) Eggplant Parmigiana; 2) Gnocchi; 3) White Pizza with Wild Mushrooms.

Martha C.

The owner’s name may be the same, but Geno’s Grille in the new Storrs Center across from the UConn campus is not the same kind of place as either of Coach Auriemma’s eponymous eateries at the Mohegan Sun.

This one is special.

Ambiance is clean and fresh. A full bar is on the right. The dining area to the left is smartly divided by glass partitions. Weather permitting, outside dining is also available.

Family friends who live just a short jump-shot away from it called to suggest dinner, and nine of us converged on the place.

Crusty bread, accompanied by a good olive oil plated with a small scoop of herb-flecked ricotta, led off our meal.

Some of us had starter salads. One was a common Caesar, but the other was an exciting endive, arugula and goat cheese mix jazzed up with summer berries and candied pecans, all tossed in a bright lemon-honey-pepper dressing.

That’s a meatball

One of my ongoing quests is for good Italian meatballs. The ones at Geno’s Grille were beefy and extremely light. I loved them. (My husband likes cannonballs; too bad for him.) Four good-sized orbs were smothered by a clean-tasting, pulpy, house-made tomato sauce topped with a tangle of arugula.

Eggplant and chicken parmigiana, both hefty portions, were delicious. They were thick and meaty, with very little breading and a nice topping of melted mozzarella. An appetizer of mussels steamed with fennel-based sausage in a slightly spicy tomato sauce were more than enough for an entrée — but as usual, I over-ordered.

Carb fest

My main dish featured light and fluffy little pillows of gnocchi, house made with ricotta, not potatoes. They were delicious, although the accompanying sauce fell flat. Adding grated parmesan and hot peppers flakes didn’t help.

Chalkboard specials enticed. An exquisite piece of roasted halibut was draped over silky white risotto and augmented with broccoli rabe. A frisée of chicory greens crowned the presentation like a frilly fascinator. It was excellent, the only uncooperative part being the broccoli rabe left in ungainly, long string form instead of cut into smaller pieces.

A second risotto, on a subsequent visit, had classic notes in every grain. Bright yellow with a saffron infusion, the flavors would have made it a standout portion all by itself, but it was topped by a fantastic, grilled T-bone veal steak which made it even better. Every morsel was just about perfect.

A special of scunglilli fra diavolo with linguini was spiked with just enough heat to enhance the chunky, chopped clams and cherry tomatoes.

Our 4-year-old grandson ordered the macaroni (really orecchiette) and cheese, which he loved. The adults found favor in cheese ravioli bathed in a creamy tomato sauce augmented with a dash of pesto.

A generous portion of moist, tender chicken scaloppini was served over spaghetti. Thickly battered fried oysters, another evening special, were tasty. Their sides were heavily carb-loaded: good French fries and a serving of cold tubetti pasta.

Desserts delight

A rotating selection of gelato, sourced from the UConn Dairy Bar, is available daily. All were excellent. We’ve had the blood orange and chocolate on our separate visits. Serving sizes varied; on our first visit they were generous, on the second, not so much.

Creamy, vanilla panna cotta, normally a light, smooth, molded dessert, was too gelatinous. Cubes of poached pears decorated the plate.

A multi-layered chocolate cake from Diana’s Bakery in Enfield was a slam dunk. The huge portion was devoured by the masses at our table.

Geno’s Grille
9 Dog Lane, Storrs
(860) 487-9032

Rating: ¶¶¶ 1/2

In a pasta shell: Robust, very good, mostly Italian food with excellent service. We loved the spicy mussels, the different risottos and both eggplant and chicken parmigiana. For dessert, gelato from the UConn Dairy Bar refreshed and the chocolate layer cake was scrumptious.

Prices: $$+ — Soups, salads, appetizers, $6 to $10; burgers, pizzas, $11 to $15; pastas and entrées, $16 to $26; desserts, $5 to $12; children’s plates, $7

Hours: 11 a.m. to 8:30 p.m., Sunday through Thursday; open until 9:30 p.m. Friday and Saturday

Basics: Major credit cards accepted. Wheelchair accessible. Outdoor dining, weather permitting.

Joan GordonFor The Bulletin

Last night, my wife (UCONN class of 86), my 16 year old son, and I drove up to have dinner at Geno's with our 19 year old son (UCONN class of 2017) to celebrate her 50th birthday. Her father (UCONN class of 56) and her Uncle (UCONN class of 75) surprised her by joining us. Not only was the food delicious, but the service could not have been any better. We all thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Bob Elliot

We have not been disappointed so far in at least 3 dinners. The food is fresh and delicious. The atmosphere is lively yet relaxed.

Piper L.

Great resturant!!!!! My wife is requesting wine in a quartino size. We have been back 3 times in the last month and love it. Just a suggestion and keep up the good work!

Ryan Cadorette

I brought my grandmother here for lunch to celebrate her 98th birthday. Everyone made the day so wonderful and the food FABulous! The portion sizes for lunch were huge - we both had food to bring home. The plate presentations are amazing as well! I cannot wait to return, the menu has such great variety! This will be our new spot when I come into town. I cannot wait to bring my husband.

Krissy Gillette

It was a pleasure meeting you yesterday. You made my daughter’s day on her birthday. She turned 24 yesterday and is a UCONN Alum, receiving her bachelor’s degree in 2012 and masters in 2013. She has been following UCONN Women’s basketball since she was 4 years old. She was at the airport, standing by the fence, to greet the 1st National Championship team when they landed back in CT. She still remembers that day and many others. Getting an autographed picture of Geno yesterday definitely put a smile on her face. Not as good as seeing him in person, but very nice. I truly appreciate you thinking of doing that for her. I mentioned to you that she invited him to her wedding. Well, it was one of the final games of the season in her Masters year and she finally had her name pulled in the raffle Geno always does post game. She ran down to collect her prize and asked him if it was ok to give him a hug and he obliged. He noticed her engagement ring and she took the opportunity to invite him to the wedding. For all I know she sent him a formal invitation as well. I don’t mean to go on and on, but I did want to thank you again. Southington is definitely looking forward to the opening of the new Geno’s Grille. It’s a great location and will really add to the downtown atmosphere. Again, it was a pleasure meeting you. Good-luck in your continued success!

John E. MillerNew Britain, CT

They have a gf pizza crust and gf pasta. I got the pizza which was pretty good! A manager came by and asked how I liked the gf pizza, which was nice.

Meaghan

First timers here. Mansfield desperately [needed the] upscale Italian this place offers. Started [with] PEI mussels in red sauce as [an] appetizer. Excellent. Soups - Black Bean for my wife and Pasta Fagioli were excellent and seasoned perfectly. [My] wife had [the] salmon cobb salad. Salmon [was] cooked [perfectly]. Fresh greens. My pasta bolognese [was a] generous portion and excellent. We will return.

Al L.Tolland, CT

Last Saturday, my husband and I took a ride out to the UCONN campus and decided to try Gino's Grille for dinner. What a wonderful restaurant! Almost no wait time, the employees are all polite and friendly and we had a delicious meal of Nonna's lasagna. We definately will be back! I would like to personally thank Brittany and Matt for making this evening a memorable experience. I give Geno 10 forks!!

Robin Carlough

Great food, Nice wine selection, Good prices, Visited on a business trip. Wish I lived a little nearer so I could go back often.

Norman F.Cranston, RI

We very much enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. The food was very good and it was very relaxed.

Kate S.Columbia, CT

Stopped for an early dinner before a UCONN Women's basketball game. The place filled up very quickly. We had a lovely student/waitress who was very helpful. I had a huge seafood and pasta dish that was very good. My husband thought the food was good with real Italian flair. The price was good and it is a great place for a quick bite to eat.

Grandma6BoysGreenwich, CT

Have to say geno's had much better food than I anticipated being on campus so to speak. Pizza was very good, pasta was as well.

Dugan2425Harrington Park

At my local weight watcher meeting, I had been advised that Geno’s was not weight watcher friendly and it was very expensive. I wish I had checked it out myself and not taken her at her word. She was very wrong! Geno’s menu includes many healthy options. Utilize portion control, enjoy your meal and take home some great leftovers.

The servers were nice, attentive and fairly knowledgeable. It seemed like they liked their jobs and were quite happy. (We thought it was cute that our server told us a side was broccoli. We laughed when we realized it was broccoli rabe not broccoli.) The side dishes were excellent, excellent, excellent!

The special's menu had my favorite lean meat, pork, which I ordered with the broccoli rabe and swiss chard. My husband ordered the salmon with the same two sides. When I was served my platter of food, I was immediately impressed with the presentation of the dish. I enjoyed the brie cheese and brown sauce. My husband said his salmon was one of the best he has ever had. I would concur but I am not a fan of salmon.

The bread and olive oil were very, very good. The bread had a smoked taste to it, the olive oil was rich and flavorful and we enjoyed the roasted red pepper and chic pea tapanade. We shared a Caesar salad and you could actually taste the anchovies! It was all very good.

The pizza looked great! It is the thin crust, NY style pizza crust that I love. We will have to try it at on another visit.

It has a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Sports bar meets fine dining. In the summertime, the outdoor dining option will give it more of the feel of a nice bistro. The furnishings are comfortable. You can view the tv sets from every seat in the restaurant. Music selection and volume is stellar. The restrooms have a sound system, toilets have disposable tissues for the seats and the hand towels are next to the doors.

In the end, eating at Geno’s was a great dining experience, one that I am sure we will enjoy at future visits. We found the prices to be reasonable. We will always miss the Depot Restaurant, but Geno's may help us move on from our rather prolonged sense of mourning! I am only sorry it took us so long to get down there to eat.

BlueRobinStorrs, CT

We made a last minute reservation on a week night, but we were easily accommodated, and the service was friendly and efficient. We had veal and seafood, both of which were amazing. There were no Geno sightings, but this is definitely a restaurant that we plan to visit again.

Ramsey-MurphyConnecticut

I've been to Geno's twice and loved the food both times. Most of the time I get take out and just recently had their Cobb salad with Veal! Amazing. For a price close to a Subway salad, it was not only delicious, but included fresh, healthy ingredients, tasty greens and the portion size was twice that of the salads served at Dog Lane Café nearby. I would recommend this restaurant highly. You can't discount the delicious food. His meatballs are amazing as well.

ChipOnMansfield, CT

I had dinner with 2 friends last night 4/30. I wanted to let you know what a great waiter James was. He was pleasant, attentive, and accomadatimg. He was very knowledgeable about the food and wine and made some wonderful recommendations. He is a real asset to Geno's Grille.

Lorna Joseph

This is the second time I've been to this restaurant and both times I had excellent food and service. Both times I had one of the specials...an omelet this time and pasta last. My clients also enjoyed their lunch entrees...a Cobb salad and the pasta special (made with gluten free pasta upon her request).

Joe M.

We ate at Geno's Easter 2014. I am pretty critical at times with food quality and service. I took my son and his girlfriend along with my wife and daughter to lunch since my son could not leave for Easter. The atmosphere was very upbeat and service was excellent. The 5 of us had an assortment of dishes and appetizers. The meatball and bruschetta appetizers were very good. I had a Cobb salad with chicken breast and shrimp which was large and very good. My wife had the pasta dish with clam sauce which she said was very good. My daughter and son had a salmon dish which also was good and tasty. Overall I thought everything was excellent for a Restaurant so close to university campus.

Paul G.Southbury, CT

Despite the move from the Big East to the American Athletic Conference, 2013-14 has been a season in which women’s coach Geno Auriemma seemingly can do no wrong. That includes opening a restaurant in the newly crafted Storrs Center — Geno’s Grille — shortly after securing the 2013 national championship, his eighth.

Don’t look for too many comparisons between Geno’s Grille and the several casual eateries at Mohegan Sun casino bearing his name. Except for brief rosters of vegetarian and house-blend burgers ($11-$12), brickoven sandwiches ($11-$12) and brickoven pizzas ($13-$15), this restaurant, although accessibly priced, is decidedly upscale in its culinary ambitions, even sporting a nice selection of salumi e formaggi ($8-$10).

In atmosphere, it registers somewhere between modern bistro and elevated bar and grill. A separate bar area has three high-mounted TVs tuned to sports action. Geno’s still boyish visage also appears on backlit photo screens. There’s a light panel bearing the signatures of some of your favorite Huskies of years past. The dining spaces feature wood floors, brick walls, a couple of banquettes, bare wood tables and brown linen napkins. The effect is comfortable but unpretentious.

Service is chipper, team-oriented and attentive.Most of the servers seem to be recent or current students somewhere, including an X-ray technician whom we figure can probably see right through us. We’re starving, but placated by sesame-seeded, brick-oven Italian bread with a scoop of red pepper and chick pea purée (the spread varies nightly) set in a pool of Corto Californian EVOO.

The accessible international wine list includes 63 selections by bottle ($25-$229) and 17 by glass ($8-$13). Our white wine lover sips a glass of Sonoma-Cutrer Chardonnay, Russian River, California ($12/$42), while the rest of us share a bottle of Geno’s own 2010 Puglia Rosso, Italy ($10/$36). When they don’t run out due to server or dishwasher mishaps, good goblets are emblazoned with Geno’s name.

Geno’s chef, Nicola Maggioni, hails from the shores of Lake Como. For years, he cooked not only in Italy but in Germany, Ireland and Bermuda before winding up in the United States. In the Northeast, he worked in actor Stanley Tucci’s former Finch Tavern in Croton Falls, N.Y., and opened Tavern 1757 in Seymour.

From a portable specials blackboard, we try two of his soups of the day, one a nicely textured spicy chipotle black bean ($6) garnished with a tumbleweed of alfalfa sprouts, the other a Mediterranean chowder ($6) loaded with shrimp, scallop, salmon and mussels in a lovely broth to which bulgur wheat lends a bit of body. The regular menu soup is a robust (non-vegetarian) pasta e fagioli ($6), the broth fortified with white beans, ditalini pasta, carrot, celery and house-cut pancetta and thickened by blending a portion of the soup.

A refreshing spicchio salad ($9) features a section of iceberg lettuce, its hollow filled with chopped smoked bacon, sun-dried tomato, Gorgonzola and scallion in an emulsified red-wine and Dijon-mustard vinaigrette. Unfortunately, it’s undermined by the use of charmless sun-dried tomato — good oven-dried tomato would make a world of difference. Proof that simple salads are usually best, Kathy & Geno’s salad ($7) of green leaf lettuce, shaved white onion, olive oil and Champagne vinegar is simply delightful.

Small plates ($8-$9) are fun and seem designed for sharing. A generous portion of fried Rhode Island calamari jumbled with cherry peppers and julienne zucchini and carrot, fairly heavily breaded and seasoned, is nevertheless tender and tasty with its twin dips of roasted garlic aïoli and marinara sauce. A large bowlful of Prince Edward Island mussels ($9) showcases scores of tender, grit-free little bivalves in a captivating, slightly sweet-slightly spicy tomato broth with housemade sweet Italian sausage and grilled olive oil toasts. Five meaty, breaded and deep fried, long-stemmed artichoke hearts ($9) served over a lemon caper aïoli are the best we’ve ever encountered. And, of course, we have to try a quartet of Geno’s meatballs, the meat mixture incorporating milk-soaked bread rather than breadcrumbs and accented with cumin and coriander ($8) before braising in Geno’s tomato basil sauce (jars of which, along with his fra diavolo sauce, are for sale by the door).

Some very credible pizzas emerge from the brick oven. Our mushroom pizza ($15) is a gorgeous white pie topped with sliced wild mushroom, roasted fingerling potato, fresh mozzarella, whipped ricotta, garlic, rosemary and EVOO. It’s a thin-crust version with a thicker rolled cornichione like a vera pizza Napoletana and less scorching than is preferred by folk directly to our south but still with some nice blistering. The lubricating EVOO helps the ingredients pull together, rather like a successful basketball team.

Geno’s Grille offers a reasonably priced selection of appealing pastas ($15-$26). Two apparently are housemade — the ravioli and the gnocchi. On the first night, we elect a special of sumptuous malfadini pasta ($17), the long ribbons of wavy-edged pasta tossed with creamy Gorgonzola and dried fig in a port wine demi-glace. On the second night, we pick up on the chatter of our servers and order the ricotta gnocchi ($15) paired with fresh mozzarella plus the marinara, cream and pesto that normally go with the ravioli. The resulting hybrid is glorious, the soft gnocchi pillows laved in an almost indescribably good, rich, herbal sauce.

We also fare awfully well with the entrées ($19-$26). Saltimbocca alla Romana ($21) presents scallops of pounded chicken finished with prosciutto and sage in a rich Pinot Grigio sauce with sides of roasted potato and asparagus. I worry that a breaded Spanish mackerel special ($22) will trap too much of the fish’s abundant natural oil, but that proves not to be a problem as the fish is pan-roasted and then lightly crusted with breadcrumbs and herbs after cooking and then served over a beurre blanc. Ironically, what is too oily for my taste is the accompanying tabouleh salad. A slab of brick oven-roasted cedar plank salmon ($23) in a tamarind glaze is beautifully cooked medium-rare, as requested, and topped with a corn and roasted red pepper relish. But our favorite main dish of all might be the chef’s Tuscan grilled steak of the day ($22), a 13-ounce flank steak marinated in sesame oil, Worcestershire sauce, butter and herbs before being grilled, sliced and served with roasted potatoes and asparagus. What flavor and caramelization!

Desserts ($5-$12) include a fresh pair of cannolis ($6), a first-rate square of cakey tiramisù ($7) and a quivery panna cotta ($8) topped with caramel, pecan and poached pear. But few tables can resist the mountain of chocolate ($12 for two to four), a frosted wedge of five-layer chocolate cake (moist, but not overly dense or sweet) about the height of the 2013 national championship trophy replicated by the entrance.

Geno doesn’t merely lend his name to the restaurant. During basketball season, he records his radio show there on Thursday nights. Reportedly, he visits pretty much weekly, enjoying food and wine from the restaurant that bears his name. He circulates among the tables, soliciting feedback and making sure that customers are happy. Of course, none of this should surprise anyone familiar with his work ethic.

Hartford Magazine

It has been a chilly and un-spring-like March, but at least we have UConn’s participation in the March Madness that is the NCAA Basketball Tournament to enjoy. And a great place to root for UConn is Geno’s Grille, which opened a year ago in the new Storrs Center. That’s Geno as in Geno Auriemma, of course, the UConn women’s charming and vociferous basketball coach who is trying to win a ninth NCAA championship. There’s a replica of last year’s championship trophy near the entrance, not to mention jars of Geno’s sauce for sale. I photographed the bar area with its nice flat-screen TVs and one of the dining areas late in the evening when there weren’t many customers, but here’s how the restaurant looked with more customers. A closer look at this backlit screen reveals the autographs of some favorite Lady Huskies. Our server brought us a basket of nice bread and a white-bean-and-red-pepper spread in a pool of extra virgin olive oil. She also toted a small blackboard with the evening’s specials to supplement our menus. We ordered some of Geno’s private label red wine to increase our dining enjoyment. We shared tastes of three different soups, including a pasta e fagioli, a spicy black bean, and a Mediterranean chowder. For salads, we had a wedge salad with bacon, Blue cheese and sun-dried tomato as well as Geno signature salad, of which this is a split serving. We shared a number of nice appetizers, including fried calamari, Geno’s meatballs, deep-fried artichoke hearts, and Prince Edward Island mussels. Pizzas and pastas are another good way to go at Geno’s Grille. You can just glimpse the pizza oven in back. This is a wild mushroom, fingerling potato, ricotta, Mozzarella, garlic and extra virgin olive oil pizza, these are housemade gnocchi in a luscious sauce, and these are mafaldine noodles with dried figs, creamy Gorgonzola and port wine sauce. Entrées provided a lot of fun as well. There was Spanish mackerel, cedar plank salmon, chicken, prosciutto and sage in a Pinot Grigio sauce, and a Tuscan flank steak special. For dessert, we had a nice tiramisù, a pair of cannolis and a panna cotta, but the dessert everyone goes crazy over is the mountain of chocolate. We needed coffee to wash everything down. My friend, who always has season tickets to the UConn women, had his picture taken with the trophy.

RestaurantsCT.com

Hi, I just wanted to applaud you for a wonderful meal and atmosphere last night. We had a party of 13; we chose Geno's for location as my daughter performed her senior trumpet recital right across the street, obviously at UConn. The food was superb, the service was extremely friendly; I did not hear even one minor complaint from the table. So great job guys. We will return. Thanks again for a great meal and adding to what was already a special day for all of us.

Laura Knaack4/13/2014

Nice atmosphere. Service was very good. The food was very good.

Bob06339TripAdvisor, Ledyard, CT, 3/7/2014

Dined here Sunday night and I was very surprised at how good my meal of branzino was. Other diners said theirs was also good. Exceeded my expectations. Server was very pleasant and restaurant, though full when we left, was not too noisy.

T.S.Yelp, North Granby, CT, 11/8/2013

My gf was in love with the brick oven salmon she ordered and she believed it perfectly seasoned with slightly sweetened topping and tendered veggies on the side.

Peter L.Yelp, Mansfield, CT, 1/10/2014

Love everything about this restaurant! Great service, awesome food, wonderful atmosphere. Just an idea, maybe add in a vegetarian special with the daily specials. That would make Geno's perfect!

Christina Hahn

Love this place! The service is top notch - you are always greeted with a smile! The food never disappoints. A well run - fun - friendly place to eat lunch or dinner.....better yet both! Great to have a restaurant like Geno's when you have a business lunch - romantic dinner - dinner with friends whatever the occasion Geno's has you covered!

Wendy Gergler

I was meeting up with an old high school friend for some drinks and food. I found Geno's by accident when searching for something that might be convenient for both of us. It ended up being just right. Geno's has a nice atmosphere. It was actually very crowded when we arrived so we ended up sitting/eating at the bar. The service was very good. The bartender was very friendly and accommodating. He recommended a wine that I really liked. The food was decent. I actually ordered a salad that was presented in a very cool way. It was basically a head of iceberg lettuce hollowed out and filled with all of the other ingredients. Yum!!!! We did find that as busy as it was when we arrived, it cleared out very quickly - well before their closing time. Though I guess that is typical for Storrs.

jumplt9999Providence, RI
October, 2013

Finally got around to visiting on 10 Nov and were very pleasantly surprised. We found the food very good, well prepared and attractively presented. One of us had eggplant parm and it was a delicate, interestingly herbed prep, quite different from the usual greasy breaded eggplant overwhelmed by gobs of cheese and tomato sauce. The other order was a nightly special: risotto with gorgonzola, spinach and a bit of sausage; a well made, creative preparation. Portions were generous but not huge. We shared a lettuce salad that was large enough for two. We finished with cappuccino and a shared panna cotta. The service was quite good and staff was attentive, knowledgeable and helpful.

zophzonesStorrs, CT
November, 2013

All four of our appetizers were good - meatballs, mussels (delicious!) mozzarella and calamari. The lasagna I had was, no kidding, the best I've ever tasted. Perfect noodles, creamy blend of flavors and a regular portion - not some giant, cooked in your dish, spilling over the sides thing. The steak and veal our friends ordered got big thumbs up. Good wine list. Happy to find a nice, casual place east of Manchester.

jlforTolland, CT
February, 2014

Geno's located in the new downtown UCONN is a pleasant surprise. The menu offers a lot of choices. It definitely has Geno's Italian influence and the food awesome. The atmosphere very trendy. I highly recommend a visit.

Thefoodcritic5Waterbury, CT
February, 2014

This was our second time to Genos' both after a victorious U Conn women's basketball team. Cameron was charming, helpful and very attentive. The food was really good. I had the carbonara and my lady had the Bolognese. Both were hearty, flavorful and delicious. It will always be a definite stop before or after a game. Geno, you definitely have it going on. Nicely done!!

thelegendmitchWindsor Locks, CT
March, 2014

We found the food very good, well prepared and attractively presented. One of us had eggplant parm and it was a delicate, interestingly herbed prep, quite different from the usual greasy breaded eggplant overwhelmed by gobs of cheese and tomato sauce. The other order was a nightly special: risotto with gorgonzola, spinach and a bit of sausage; a well made, creative preparation. Portions were generous but not huge. We shared a lettuce salad that was large enough for two. We finished with cappuccino and a shared panna cotta. The service was quite good and staff was attentive, knowledgeable and helpful.

Storrs, CT

I've had two meals here and the food has been absolutely stellar. I've never had a better calamari anywhere, the fried artichokes are also amazing. The bruschetta and meatballs are also great. I haven't been disappointed by an appetizer yet. As for entrées I've had the chicken saltimbocca and veal milanese. Both also excellent. Folks, this is great food. Give it a chance and you'll find the flavor well worth it.

Michael R.Southport, CT
April, 2013

Went to Geno's for the first time - really liked the atmosphere! We had the mussels for an appetizer and they were absolutely delicious. And the portion was huge for such a reasonable price. For dinner, I had the eggplant parm and it was done perfect. It also looked great - really pretty with argula on top. Staff was friendly - quick service and everyone was smiling. Overall, great experience and would recommend Geno's.

Laura K.Fairfield, CT
April, 2013

I have eaten at this new restaurant several times in its short life. I will say that in its newness it is a great little place to eat…The food choices I have had have been wonderful. Let's see....Ricotta Gnocchi was light, not like those sinkers that you find at most restaurants in Hartford, with a hint of nutmeg and grated cheese. The sauce authentic, tasting of tomato, and not thick and clunky. The pizza, a special of the day, with rock shrimp and asparagus with sauce was to die for - a far cry from the pizza place down the street. The white clams, my favorite, and with enough clams…I found the bill(s) to be reasonable. Great addition!

CL S.Montville, CT
April, 2013

Went once and already became a fan. Had mozzarella fritta, Geno's meatballs and the classic cheeseburger. Everything delicious; hamburger meat was very tasty and grilled to perfection. Service great! Staff extremely friendly and helpful and attentive. Highly recommended!!

D.D.Fairfield, CT April, 2013

Was visiting family nearby and wanted to check out campus. Walking around made us hungry, so we headed to Geno's. The speidini is awesome, ALMOST as good as my Nana's. The crostini was really good as well. My girlfriend had the Cornish Chicken and I had a meatball sandwich for our main course. I was able to grab a couple bites of hers before she tried stabbing me with a fork and it was tasty. The meatballs were phenomenal.

Jesse G.Columbus, OH
April, 2013

I was visiting my granddaughter on campus and she told me about Geno's new restaurant. We decided to try it. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was bright and inviting. We were happily seated by a window. Our appetizer, mozzarella caprese, was DELICIOUS. The mozzarella was the best I've had in a long time. Our waitress said it came directly from Arthur Avenue in the Bronx. The bread was toasted...the dip it came with was excellent. We both had the gnocchi as our main course. We also shared a side of meatballs. The gnocchi, made with ricotta, was perfect and the meatballs were too. Panna cotta ended our delightful meal. Go to Geno's. You will not be disappointed!

Diane C.White Plains, NY
April, 2013

What a Great Surprise! The food was delicious and the staff enjoyable. The meatballs were better than "grandma's". The mozzarella fritta with marinara was a nice start to my Italian lunch. Wide selection of both bottled and tap beer, as well as some very intriguing wines. I can't wait to go back!

John L.Fairfield, CT
April, 2013

Was visiting family nearby and wanted to check out campus. Walking around made us hungry, so we headed to Geno's. The speidini is awesome, ALMOST as good as my Nana's. The crostini was really good as well. My girlfriend had the Cornish Chicken and I had a meatball sandwich for our main course. I was able to grab a couple bites of hers before she tried stabbing me with a fork and it was tasty. The meatballs were phenomenal.

Jesse G.Columbus, OH
April, 2013

I had an excellent experience at Geno's last night! I ordered the artichoke appetizer with balsamic glaze and it was on par! The Margueritias with Patrone were refreshing and tasty… I ordered a burger and it was cooked to perfection and the meat was so tender with no gristle! My friend ordered the rib-eye steak with goat cheese and again it was cooked to perfection. We also loved hummus plate:) We had wonderful service and can't wait to return!"

Pam G.Manhattan, NY
April, 2013

I greatly enjoyed my dinner at Geno's...I found the wait staff to be very friendly and helpful, the food delicious, and the atmosphere relaxed. The lasagna was really tasty, the wine the wait staff recommended to partner with it delicious, and the people there to be warm and hospitable...I'll be back!

Patty G.Storrs/Mansfield, CT
May, 2013

We had a wonderful dinner out…All food groups and varieties of taste were covered, so the menu is just fine. The food was delicious, distinctive, and very well presented. All three entrees at our table looked and tasted just right. We were offered both pepper and grated cheese…I really want this place to succeed.

Marcia C.Mansfield Center, CT
May, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent night at Geno's. Those with us enjoyed it as well. My steak was cooked as ordered and delivered in timely fashion. Others were very happy with their meals as well. Our special requests - add this, take this off - were handled well. The food was tasty, the service was friendly and efficient, and the atmosphere enjoyable. If you don't like dessert (we liked ours), well, then just go to the candy store, the cookie store or the UConn Dairy Bar following your meal. The prices were reasonable; we dine out quite a bit (Glastonbury, West Hartford, Hartford, Northampton), and this was fair…we will definitely be going back. The students are about to hit the road, too, so the summer would be nice time to go the restaurants (Geno's, Dog Lane Café and so on) and stores by UConn.

Chris K.Manchester, CT
May, 2013

I recently went to Geno's Grille the other day after a visit with relatives. So glad we tried them. My wife had the pasta fagiola, calamari with garlic aioli as an appetizer, and a west coast burger on an artisan roll with waffle fries and a pickle. I had the fried artichokes with lemon caper mayo - that was out of this world - as my app. For my entrée I tried the chicken parm as a recommendation by the table next to us and was glad I did. The chicken was pounded thin w/ a panko-parm crust. One of the best I've EVER had. For dessert we split a chocolate cake with a ganache sauce for the 3 of us. It was to die for. It was that good. We are from the valley area but have no problem driving up to Geno's for a meal this good. A MUST TRY!

Bob Jarvis

Great atmosphere. Excellent, attentive wait staff. Had the "Western" Burger which I HIGHLY recommend.

Brad C.Providence, RI

I like this place -- a lot. The quality of the food is excellent, and service is steadily improving since the restaurant opened in April...

Doug H.Storrs, CT
May, 2013

I've been here five times since its opening in April. The food is consistently delicious (pesto on the margherita pizza! Yes!), the wine selection is surprisingly vast (especially compared to nearby restaurants), and our servers have always been knowledgeable and timely. I'll be back soon!

Jane L.Boston, MA
May, 2013

Congrats To Geno on another Victory!! A friend and I went up for lunch and were pleasantly surprised at what we found. Knowledgeable and engaging staff. Nice selection of wine and beers. The food was delicious. Highly recommend the meatballs and the mozzarella balls. Looking forward to returning and enjoying the outdoor seating.

John LucasMay, 2013

I really enjoy their appetizers, especially the clams and fried artichokes (they're to die for)...4 stars... Nice bar, nice atmosphere, I'm treated nicely... what more can you ask for?

Jose M.RI
May, 2013

Geno's Grille manager Brittany Kaytis said it's important that customers of Geno Auriemma's newest restaurant, which opened in April, enjoy the full dining experience and not just "sit down, eat quick, and get out of here." Visitors may notice that, as a result, the outdoor seating area is fairly small with just a few tables, although there are plans to add to it as the year progresses. Food is made to order, Kaytis explained, and the goal of Geno's was never to be a rush-through diner but a restaurant that encourages patrons to relax and enjoy several courses.

And nothing says "stick around a while" like televisions, unexpectedly mounted to the wall of the otherwise quietly decorated restaurant.

"We have them to accommodate people who want to watch a sporting event," Kaytis said. "And obviously, with (women's basketball coach) Geno Auriemma being involved with us, we wanted to be able to broadcast his games and all the sporting games."

But the televisions are only a small part of the restaurant, and they're largely unobtrusive. More immediately noticeable upon entering the establishment is its minimalist, but hardly stark, décor. Three sections separated by large panels of frosted glass create three subtly different atmospheres from which customers can choose: upscale bar scene, open-kitchen vibe, and window seating. And the blend of warm and cool tones in the wall surfaces — matte red brick and shiny gray tiles — reflect the larger personality of the restaurant: classy, but cozy. A place customers can feel equally comfortable in a sweater and jeans or slacks and a tie.

Early marketing efforts were aimed at the community and area professionals, Kaytis said, but UConn students have also been frequenting the restaurant.

"It surprises me how many students are coming to eat," she said. "They come in on date nights, they're coming in with their parents, or they're coming in with friends for a nice meal."

The nice meals the students and other customers are making popular with their orders are several of the pasta dishes, which Kaytis described as "good, traditional food — people like a nice piece of lasagna," made with a béchamel sauce. Diners also enjoy the seafood entrées, she said, pointing to the cedar plank salmon, seafood linguini, and red and white clam dishes in particular.

The cedar plank salmon had previously been one of the short-term specials but was ordered so frequently that it became a standard item on the menu, whose specials are ever changing and whose core offerings are still being worked out according to customer preference.

Open only six months, the new business is still settling into its foundation, but Kaytis said an established selection is by no means a stagnant selection; variety will continue as the specials rotate and the seasons change. A variety in clientele is as critical as a variety in entrées at Geno's Grille.

The menu, prepared with artistic flair by chef Nicola Maggioni, has a selection of meals at a variety of price points that make the restaurant inviting to professionals and students alike, with popular pasta dinners starting as low as $15 (cheese ravioli or ricotta gnocci) and topping out at $26 (spiced rock shrimp, fritto misto, or veal Milanese). Single glasses of wine can cost as much as $18 for a Brunello di Montalcino or as little as $7 for a Riesling.

In a way that perhaps only a restaurant can, Geno's Grille also invites interaction between the surrounding Mansfield/Storrs community and the students living campus life. Not only do the students patronize the restaurant, but they compose much of the wait staff.

"A lot of times I'll walk by tables and hear customers asking what they're studying, or what's happening with them. It's nice. We've created a good environment for this area," Kaytis said.

Journal Inquirer

Came here as a family and had a 20-minute wait, but it was completely worth it! Everything was absolutely delicious, from the garlic hummus dip to the appetizers and the flavorful entrees. We shared the bruschetta and calamari appetizers -- both were great! As far as entrees goes, the four of us ordered the Rock Shrimp, Chicken Parm Sandwich, Steak, and Carbonara. Every entree was delicious and satisfying. This was one of the best meals I have ever had at a"

June, 2013

Urban Chic in Downtown Storrs - The atmosphere is upscale urban...I don't feel like I am in Storrs anymore. The food is well crafted with some of Geno's family recipes included. The plates are well presented, and the service is by young but attentive college students. An unusual mix of entree selections will keep me coming back.

June, 2013

My husband and I had dinner Mon. p.m. and were very happy with both the food and the service…we thought it was delicious. And the orrechiette bolognese was fantastic. We shared a Geno & Kathy salad and it was very good as well -- just enough for the two of us…we thought it was great, and we loved the tapenade (red pepper?) and olive oil that was served with it. For dessert we split the panna cotta (very smooth and rich) and were also brought a HUGE slice of the chocolate cake as well (on the house). We thought it was a very nice gesture, especially since we had no issues with our dinner. Unfortunately we could only eat a bite of it, so we gave some to the couple at our neighboring table and took the rest home. It was so moist and decadent. And the frosting was very light. I'm not sure if that's the normal size, but if it is I'd recommend splitting and definitely planning to take some home with you! Finally, I had decaf coffee and it was some of the best I've had -- very rich but not bitter. Our waiter was very attentive (a really sweet young man). At least three other staff members came by our table to check on us during our meal. We eat out quite often, and we can't remember better service. The staff was accommodating but didn't hover -- just what we like. The restaurant's atmosphere was comfortable and inviting -- reminded us a little of the old Pagani's in Manchester, which was one of our favorites before they, sadly, closed a number of years ago. We honestly have nothing bad to say about Geno's Grille.

Kathy T.Conventry, CT
April, 2013

Calimari was tender, my sausage and kale risotto special was phenomenal. My 2yo son loved the orrechiete kids' mac and cheese (he's a snob when it comes to mac and cheese). The meatball appetizer was tasty as well. The chicken Parmesan was a massive portion for a good price and the gnocchi was so damn light and fluffy it was hard to believe. Good wine list and decent beer selection.

Ryan D.North Granby, CT

This has become my favorite restaurant in Connecticut. I have been two times since my first visit and it my experience has been more enjoyable with each successive trip. I hope this restaurant does well because it has officially become one of my favorites.

Zach G.Jewett City, CT

The facilities are clean, the presentation is wonderful considering the competition in Storrs and the service was excellent. Our waitress was very accommodating and present.

The food is no worse. We ordered the fried artichoke which was wonderful. All of the ingredients were really fresh by Eastern Connecticut standards. I also ordered the margarita pizza which was excellent. The mozzarella used was of excellent quality and the pesto was wonderful. All around great experience with the food. This is about as good as it gets in the Storrs area!

Zach G.Jewett City, CT

My family came to visit for the weekend, so we decided to take a tour of UCONN where my daughter is a student. We decided to try out Geno's Grille for dinner. It was perfect. It had something for everyone from my 5 year old niece to my 68 year old father. Great flavors and selection of food, very helpful wait staff. If you are coming to UCONN for any reason, do yourself a favor and enjoy a meal in this great restaurant!

1-Aug-13

Another Champion in Storrs...We were pleasantly surprised when we visited Geno's Grille. The service staff was engaging and knowledgeable. The food was perfect. Lunch portions were just enough. The meatballs were better than grandma's. A nice selection of wines and many beer favorites on tap, as well as in bottles. Looking forward to another trip to Storrs.

John
May 16, 2013

Thank you! My husband and I took our son (a senior at UConn) to Geno's Grille for his birthday in April. The wait staff was friendly and the food was incredible! As a granddaughter of Italian immigrants, I have eaten a lot of Italian food throughout the years, but I can honestly say the Eggplant Parmesan was the best I ever had! The flavor was incredible, the texture and layering were perfect – it just melted in your mouth! Also included was a side of fresh asparagus. We started with a number of appetizers including Geno's meatballs – the host Dave and I compared family recipes and agreed they were better than our own or our Mom's (shhhh!). We all enjoyed a delicious dinner finishing it off with incredibly tasty gelato, a cannoli and a HUGE piece of moist, luscious chocolate cake which was able to be shared with everyone. And the coffee was perfect – both mellow and rich - I felt like I was sitting at a sidewalk café in Italy! Looking forward to returning for our luncheon reservations on Graduation Day May 12!

The Misto FamilyFoster, Rhode Island
May, 2013

Hours

Kitchen Hours

Sun - Thurs: 11:30AM - 8:30PM
Fri - Sat: 11:30AM - 9:30PM

Bar Closes

Sunday: 10:00PM
Monday - Thursday: 10:30PM
Friday - Saturday: 12:00AM

Shopping cart is empty.