Testimonials

I want to thank you so much for your help in coordinating my sister's bridal shower. Geno's staff was exceptional and our guests could not say enough about the service, food and event space. You all made the day and planning so easy.

Thank you again and I look forward to stopping in for dinner when I am back in town.

Tekla

My wife and I just wanted to thank you for a very enjoyable evening on Tuesday June 21 from the food to the Q&A with Kelly Faris and Morgan Tuck. They represent the State of Connecticut, the Univerdity and Geno and his staff to a level that should make us proud to say we are from Connecticut and fans of UConn basketball.

John & Pat

I want to give a big thank you to Michelle Suttenberg and the staff at Geno's Bar & Grille. I wanted to throw my wife a birthday party, something I've never done. Michelle walked me through everything making it very easy since I wanted the party to be perfect. The day came and all of our guests, especially my wife, had a great time. The food was fantastic, atmosphere was amazing and the staff was super attentive to everyone. I will definitely recommend to anyone to have your party at Geno's.

Derek Gracy6/7/2016 - Southington, CT

Via Trip Advisor

“Good food all around, good service will be back”

Just came back from a pretty good meal. We had fried Calamari that was cooked perfectly. I had Penne Ala Vodka, very good, dish was on point, one of the best I have had. My wife had a salad and soup. She said both were good. Service was good and restaurant was very clean. We will be back again.

Martin N8/15/2015 Wolcott, Connecticut

Via Trip Advisor

“Very nice place”

Very nice restaurant. Open and welcome with a nice Italian menu. I had the cavatelli saltimbocca which was outstanding. My wife had the halibut, which was equally as good. The couple we went with had the ravioli and it too was very good. You must try the meatball appetizer. Amazing meatballs. Extensive bourbon selection. The service was excellent and I can't wait to go back and try other menu items.

Pekelo988/19/2015 Wallingford, Connecticut

Via Trip Advisor

“A Fantastic Find”

I found the ambience, food and service to be first rate. There is a daily special board that is extensive. I highly recommend this restaurant.

TEH38/22/2015 Burlington, North Carolina

Via Trip Advisor

“Great food, relaxed atmosphere”

Had dinner here on 2 occasions - and will be sure to go back. Food was terrific, the wine list has a good selection... Of course we had to get the Auriemma wines which were great!...

CTraveler20109/11/2015 New Haven, CT

Via Trip Advisor

“Attentive Service with Excellent Food”

A group of 8 of us dined at Geno's on a week night. We were quickly greeted and seated. Drink orders were taken efficiently. There is a nice selection of wines and scotch. We had table appetizers with fresh Caprese salad and meatballs-excellent texture and taste. Kathy and Geno's salad with fresh greens, onions and balsamic were very fresh. The lobster fettuccine (homemade) with artichokes and white wine sauce was excellent. The Cavatelli with chicken and rosemary and sage seasoning was delicious and the texture was just right. NY strips ordered medium rare were just that and delivered with beautiful sautéed spinach. Baby kale salads with salmon and chicken were very generous portions.

Homemade cannoli was light and sweet. Michelle our server was helpful, attentive and informative-she helped make it a beautiful evening. We will be happy to return again.

Billp11239/15/2015 Burlington, Connecticut

Via Trip Advisor

“Excellent chicken parm”

Had a great dinner with friends. Chicken parm and lasagna were excellent. Nice atmosphere. Terrific staff.

P W 9/28/2015 Naples, FL

Via Trip Advisor

“So glad we found this restaurant”

From the wait staff to the food, everything was fantastic! Will definitely be going back and also just booked a company Christmas party there!

Marilyn R11/16/2015 Cheshire, Connecticut

Via Yelp

Good golly, Miss Molly. Or I should say, Mr. Geno Auriemma! What a fantastic little find in Southington!

We decided to hit up Geno's on a Wednesday around 7. Parking can be a bit tricky as it is located on the corner of Main Street, so my recommendation would be to park in the public lot located right behind the restaurant.

For a place that is basically "underground," it was so beautiful and airy on the inside. If you've read my previous reviews, I'm a big fan of ambiance and swanky places with good eats. This place reminds me so much of Amici in Avon when you walk inside. The bar is gorgeous with recessed lighting and tiles. Wooden floors lead directly back into a larger dining area and into the kitchen. They have a patio outside that is pretty large as well. Exposed pipes and dimly light areas make for wonderful dinner conversation with your significant other or family and friends.

The menu is just enough to choose from while not being overbearingly huge. The prices are dynamic for an upscale place as well - generally, most dishes range anywhere from $15-$22, with a light smattering of sandwiches that are around $12 and larger entrees that are priced around $28.

I ordered the Tomato Bisque to start. For $6, I felt the portion was just on point. It was delicious, if not a little too salty for my taste however, I could tell it was homemade and fresh and that is what is most important.

Mike got the Veal Parm and I went for the Chicken Parm. Both dishes were so nicely done - the portion size was perfect, and the pasta was fresh. The sauce (again if you read all my Italian restaurant reviews) is key for me regardless of price point at a place. Geno's sauce is pretty amazing. Sweet, chunky and sticks to the pasta. No remnant of oil or water anywhere on the plate. The Chicken was cooked perfectly as was the Veal.

We talked about where Geno's was in relation to quality and consistency with food. On point with Max a Mia, prices are a bit less and for that reason alone, I would choose Geno's over Max's. I would bump Geno's up to a 5 if we were to go back and received outstanding service and food as we did Wednesday.

Our server was exceptional and she chatted us up at the end of our meal. Nicely done, Geno's. I am muy impressed!

Lindsay J.7/16/2015 Rocky Hill, CT

Via Yelp

Food was good and a really nice wine selection. Atmosphere is nice.

Mark V.8/17/2015 Southington, CT

Via Yelp

Nice menus, the spare rib carpaccio and mussels were a great start. Staff was warm and pleasant. Good was great and well attended to. Nice wine menu, beer selection is a bit limited. Decor is well appointed and the have outdoor seating as well.

Josh S.8/22/2015 Groton, CT

Via Yelp

My friend and I went to Geno's Grille last night and I must say it was excellent! We ordered the meatball appetizer and they were melt in your mouth delicious, my friend ordered the carrot and ginger soup and she loved it. I had the Roasted Portabello on a roll with fries and a side salad. The sandwich was delicious as was the roll, the fries and the salad. My friend ordered the chicken marsala, she said it was the best she ever had, I tried it and it melted in my mouth. The staff was excellent, and our waitress Julie was amazing. I am going back and my friend is bringing her husband for spaghetti and meatballs.

Carol S.9/2/2015 Southington, CT

Via Yelp
We were looking for a restaurant in Southington when returning from an event in the area. Relied on other Yelp reviews, and not disappointed. Enjoyed a little later dinner with friends.

There were a number of specials and two of us ordered the chef's risotto, which was with blackened chicken and Gorgonzola. It was delicious.

Atmosphere is very nice.
I would recommend this restaurant.

Andrea A.9/4/2015 Portland, CT

Via Yelp

Best restaurant in Southington! Had dinner at Geno's Grill the other night and it exceeded our expectations with quality food and exceptional service. Order the meatball app! Best meatballs I've ever had! Can't wait to go back and try another dish!

Sue J.9/6/2015 West Hartford, CT

Via Yelp

Went to Geno's for our anniversary and had a GREAT meal. I had the seasonal "pumpkin chicken" that perfectly prepared and tasty. My husband had eggplant parm which he said was the best he has ever had.

Service was quick and friendly and the restaurant itself was architecturally interesting. Good location and easy parking.

Deborah S.10/12/2015 East Hampton, CT

Via Yelp

My girlfriends and I went here on a gorgeous Wednesday evening. We sat out on the patio. The wine, the food, and the service were all wonderful! We had their Bruschetta of the Day with fig and marscapone - it was delicious! We split a few entrees between us - all also delicious. The Carbonara with pancetta, Cavatelli with chicken, and the Ricotta gnocchi - mmmmmmm. The ladies and I will definitely be back!

Shannon S.10/14/2015 Hamden, CT

Via Yelp

These folks, including managers always bend over backwards to please.
Love this place.

Michelle R.11/3/2015 Wolcott, CT

Via Yelp

We've been here several times. Food is great! Grace was our server and she made the night memorable! We'll be back!

David M.11/19/2015 Southington, CT

Went here on Friday night for dinner at about 830. Place was busy and bustling but we had no wait. Ambience is warm and bright and booths were very comfortable.

Menu has a lot to choose from, from pasta to burgers to pizza and paninis and then a few entrees. They did also have a board of specials. They give you some sesame bread with a hummus in olive oil for dipping…

We settled on the mussels appetizer (a go to for us in almost every place that offers them) and it was good…

For main meals I got the arugula salad with sirloin added ($19) and my boyfriend got the Margherita pizza with sausage added ($12). Both were really good and would get again.

Lastly, we got the Bundino (chocolate hazelnut mousse -$7) which was omg so delicious. Glad there wasn't more because we would've been sick leaving there. Total bill came to $56 which I felt like was pretty reasonable.

Overall food and service was great, we will be back to try other things for sure!

Lauren D.11/21/2015 Meriden, CT

via Yelp
I was pretty impressed by the interior- big, roomy, and bright... We started with a complimentary bread basket with oil and a terrific spread of ricotta and ground prosciuotto. The pizza was very very good -a nice thin crust that somehow was soft instead of crisp and bursting with pesto and tomato sauce. It was very good and the size was a decent value. The meatballs were a beef & sweet sausage combination served with a small salad. Three good sized and delicous meatballs for $8 was a winner in the taste and value department. But of the three things I sampled, I was most surprised by the amazing pasta fagioli soup. It's such a restaurant cliche, and often tastes thin and watery and blah. Not here. This had been raised to epic proportions. Magnificent flavor, loaded with beans and pasta and all sorts of goodies. Comfort food to the fifth power. Under $28 for a very nice lunch with left-overs was a great value.

Dan. R.Simsbury, CT 7/13/2015

via TripAdvisor
"Excellent!"
My wife and I have been here 4 or 5 times, and we try something different all the time. We have been here with other couples and they loved it also. No complaints everything was fresh and the food came out quickly. Looking forward to going again! Geno's in Storrs is just as good!

Neils576/7/2015

via TripAdvisor
"Excellent Italian Restaurant!"
Excellent Italian restaurant! I went here with friends for dinner and we will definitely be back! We split Arancini and Mussels to start, both of which were delicious. We had the Prosciutto & Arugula Pizza - amazing!! Perfect atmosphere for dinner & drinks with friends and I thought the waiting staff was super friendly and accommodating. I DEFINITELY recommend Geno's, it was one of the best Italian restaurants I've eaten at in a while.

Danielle M.Newton, MA 6/30/2015

via TripAdvisor
"Great Restaurant"
Delicious! I stopped in with some family for a nice dinner, and we were all satisfied with the food and service we got for our money. The bruschetta is a must, and you can't go wrong with any of the pastas. Personally I got the penne vodka which was some of the better pasta I have had, and I also tasted and loved the ricotta dish that my sister ordered.

djk1136Boston, MA 7/6/2015

via TripAdvisor
"Great Family Dining"
The food here is great. Prices are very reasonable. The wait staff is very pleasant and accommodating. I would recommend reservations for the weekend... If you are lucky, you'll get a chance to meet Geno. He frequents the place when he is not coaching the dominate UCONN girls basketball team.

Shane D.Southington, CT 7/7/2015

via TripAdvisor

We had a family gathering recently at Geno's Grille. The food was very good. I ordered the eggplant parmesan served over pasta. I also shared (family style) salad. Everyone in our party seemed pleased with their entrees. The pricing was fairly reasonable and the atmosphere was great. We were seated in a private room surrounded by bottles of wine!

Retired662013Glastonbury, Connecticut, 5/3/2015

via TripAdvisor

Had a little trouble finding the place because Main St veers off to the left and the building looks like a medical building. The Geno's entrance is not clearly marked but once we found it we were very pleased. The food was delicious with some unusual offerings. I had Arugala salad with grilled chicken, which was fabulous. Lots of goat cheese, blueberries, strawberries, blackberries and pecans. The chicken was very flavorful. People in our party had Veal or Chicken Parmesan. The portions were huge and everyone enjoyed their meals. We will probably try the Geno's in Storrs, as that is closer to our house.

Brenda KManchester, Connecticut 5/19/2015

via TripAdvisor

We tried this restaurant with a close friend who lives in town. The staff is engaging and we liked our server James very much. We had the meatballs and buarrata to start. For entrees, veal Parma, short braised ribs and gnocchi. All were excellent, as was the adult beverage selection. We skipped dessert but only because we were full. The coffee was excellent too. Make reservations, as it was packed by the time we left at 7:30

MrCottageConnecticut 5/30/2015

via TripAdvisor

My wife and I have been here 4 or 5 times, and we try something different all the time. We have been here with other couples and they loved it also. No complaints, everything was fresh and the food came out quickly. Looking forward to going again! Geno's in Storrs is just as good!

Neils576/7/2015

via Yelp

Had takeout for the 2nd time last night and it was delicious again!!!! We had Spaghetti & Clams, Penne Al a Vodka and a Caesar salad. Food was hot when I got it home and the salad dressing was delicious!!! The bar looks like a great place to hang out also! Can't wait to dine in!

Barbara V5/5/2015

via Yelp

Delicious veal marsala. Attentive staff. A successful mix between sports bar and casual dining. Loved the music from the 40s.

Pippa S5/5/2015

via Yelp

Amazing dessert. It is so hard to find home made good quality dessert. Great atmosphere and good food.

Ashley L5/12/2015

via Yelp

I ordered the spaghetti carbonara, and it was delicious. It was a very traditional take on the dish, except without peas. But that's great, because I hate peas.

I'll take Grandma back here because the food was delicious and it was a lovely atmosphere

Lisa E5/28/2015

via Yelp

Yesterday our family went to Geno's Grille in Southington. This was our first time there. Our host Mike was very friendly, and he seated us promptly. Our waiter came over, his name was Nico. Also extremely nice, friendly and helpful. Nico answered all of our questions with great patience. He was a great waiter. We were not rushed, so we took our time and enjoyed. The place itself is very nice, there are several booths and a couple of extremely large booths to accommodate 6 or so people. Our chef was Nicolo, his food and presentations were really nice, and the food was excellent. I would recommend this Geno's place to anyone. We all had Italian food, but next time I may try the Philly steak sandwich. Our compliments to the whole staff at Geno's. We are big Geno and UConn fans.

Nancy N6/3/15

Gregg and I just wanted to say thanks again for all your help with Lucibella's baptism celebration. The food was amazing as well as the service from the wait staff. Everyone had nothing but great comments about the food and service. Some family members are already talking about booking the private room for some upcoming events. Thanks again for making the day go that much easier. We would appreciate it if you could also thank the staff again for us.

Jo Anna and Gregg Lattanzio

I would like to inform you how pleased I was with both the food and the service that my family received when visiting Geno's Grille. In particular, our waiter, Kevin Sisco was very cordial, punctual, friendly and well versed in the menu options. His timely arrivals, friendly demeanor and attentive work made our experience most enjoyable. In short , I just wanted you to know that you are lucky to have a young man of this caliber representing your fine facility. Please keep up the good work and give praise to those who work hard. Best Regards, ...We shall return.

Clint DeckertWest Hartford, CT, 5/14/2015

Enjoyable Experience.

We had a family gathering recently at Geno's Grille. The food was very good. I ordered the eggplant parmesan served over pasta. I also shared (family style) salad. Everyone in our party seemed pleased with their entrees. The pricing was fairly reasonable and the atmosphere was great. We were seated in a private room surrounded by bottles of wine! ...The waitress was very accommodating. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Retired662013Glastonbury, CT
May 3, 2015

Epicurian Delight!

Geno's has recently opened and offers a wonderfully diverse menu, attentive but not overbearing staff and ambient setting. Prices were very reasonable and the wine selection shows a lot of thought. The Penne Vodka was cooked just right. The staff are friendly, professional and we were seated and served in a timely fashion without ever feeling rushed or waiting too long. Apparently Coach Auriemma isn't successful just at coaching the UConn Women's basketball team, but running a restaurant as well. Quite an improvement over the previous tenant. Locals must agree: place was SRO on a Tuesday night!

Peter M.Burlington, CT
April 22, 2015

Superb.

Our first time at Geno's. What a great place! Our waitress Barbara was very helpful and patient because it was hard to narrow down our selections -- it all sounded delicious. The crispy skin salmon was perfect with artichoke hearts tomato fava beans and roasted potato. Portion was generous and the flavors of the ingredients created something dynamic. I am looking forward to going there again (and again). The price is right.

Fran T.Southington, CT
April 17, 2015

Had takeout for the 2nd time last night and it was delicious again!!!!

We had Spaghetti & Clams, Penne Al a Vodka and a ceasar salad. Food was hot when I got it home and the salad dressing was delicious!!!

The bar looks like a great place to hang out also!

Can't wait to dine in!

Barbara V.Southington, CT
May 5, 2015

It's true what they say: Geno's is a welcome addition to the neighborhood. The atmosphere melds casual and elegant without ever being fussy, making this a great spot for a business lunch, post-work drinks and bites, or a date. I went for the latter, and the calamari - as many other reviewers claim - does not disappoint. From appetizer to salad - beet and arugula, fresh and crisp - to entrée - sirloin for him, scallop pizza for me - to dessert - the tiramisu, of course - Geno's is dressed to impress. The price was right, the environment clean and cozy, and the presentation impeccable.

It should also be noted that Geno and his gang take every moment of the dining experience seriously, from entry to seating to plating to pouring. Our server went above and beyond to make our date special; though the place was jamming, we never felt rushed. There is a gracious, humble elegance to Geno's that's become elusive.

In sum, Brava Geno's, Brava. Not sure when I'll be back in your neck of the woods, but in the meantime, I'll dream of that crisp, inventive calamari for months to come.

Kate M.Santa Fe, NM
April 2, 2015

Food was to die for. Service was a bit relaxed, we were asked how are dinners were...thank goodness they were fabulous! We split the mussels. For dinner, I had the arugula, goat cheese salad with steak....just right! He had the lobster risotto, which was loaded with lobster (picture doesn't do it justice). And it was THE best risotto ever! For Dessert we split the tiramisu...
Great selection of wines and beers! We will be back...

Jacquie A.Bristol, CT
May 2, 2015

Delicious veal marsala. Attentive staff. A successful mix between sports bar and casual dining. Loved the music from the 40s.

Pippa S.Stevensville, MD
May 5, 2015

Second just as good as the first!!
I have frequented Geno's in Storrs and have always been pleased and had a great experience. I figured I should try their newer location in Southington. Such a good restaurant! I highly recommend Geno's Grille to anyone looking for some exceptional Italian food. The service is friendly and quick, the menus at the two locations are comparable, and the food is excellent at both! The Southington location has paninis and risottos that aren't offered in Storrs, so I had to try one. I got the prosciutto and mozzarella sandwich and it was delicious! The pesto and red peppers were the perfect touch. I am so glad to see that this second location is doing well and I will definitely return.

Jerry HBoston, Massachusetts
March 22, 2015

Lightest Gnocchi Ever! My friend and I went to Geno's a few weeks ago for the first time and the new location is beautiful!

The atmosphere was comfortable and I could definitely see myself returning for a romantic date. The food was very delicious and I think it was appropriately priced for the taste and portion size you get. I love gnocchi and I've eaten it at a bunch of Italian places in the Northend in Boston, but the Geno's gnocchi was definitely up there! It was really light and the sauce was delicious. I would absolutely return.

JnowitzBoston, Massachusetts
March 11, 2015

Amazing! I've been to Geno’s in Storrs and have had great experiences so I thought I would try their new location in Southington. I am so happy I decided to do that because I loved everything about it! The service was prompt and friendly. The menus in both locations are pretty similar, but this one has different pizza combinations, so I tried the wild mushroom brick oven pizza. I cannot believe goat cheese, wild mushrooms, fig & rosemary work so well with one another. Every bite left me with a wide smile on my face. I finished every slice without a crumb left to spare. Happy that their second restaurant is doing well so far, will be back!

Trip Advisor

Janice VWaltham, Massachusetts
March 10, 2015

I stopped by Geno's to take my mom out for dinner. I actually came off pretty impressed. Nice looking spot, fairly busy and a good location. We were seated promptly without a reservation. First thing they brought out to us was their bread and oil...which has an AWESOME red pepper ricotta cheese in the middle, which was delicious and unique.

We got a pizza to share as an appetizer, very thin and crispy, which is right up my alley... I got chicken, broccoli rabe, and potato. They have a few other unique pies too, good to share or as a meal.

I got the braised short ribs as my meal... It was fork tender and fell apart as soon as you dug into it. Presentation was great and it tasted delicious.

I would definitely come back, great prices, good food.

Mitch S.Waterbury, CT

We also ordered the burrata with crispy pork belly, pesto and tomatoes to start. My husband and I were stoked - burrata plus pork belly? Sounds perfect! When the appetizer arrived, we looked at each other, and then back at the plate - it was a lovely ball of burrata, surrounded by pesto and tomatoes with a piece of bacon on top... The burrata itself was creamy and delicious, and we savored every bite of it...

Not surprisingly, the second we finished the app, our entrees arrived. I ordered the cheese ravioli with chicken in a tomato cream sauce and my husband ordered the carbonara. Both were pretty tasty. The carbonara was pretty pancetta-tastic, so that was nice. The raviolis were good...

Kristin N.Southington, CT
2/11/2015

“Why have I not stopped in here before!?”

A few weekends ago, my friends and I stopped by Geno's for the first time. The prices were reasonable and not too expensive for the portion sizes. Geno's beer and wine selection compliments their authentic Italian menu well. We ordered the sea scallop and garlic & rosemary roasted chicken pizza to share. We loved the excellent flavor combination of crushed tomato sauce, bacon, and ranch & mozzarella from the sea scallop pizza. The roasted chicken immersed in the ricotta on the other pizza was to die for! We had to head out early for the game and didn’t have time for dessert, but I’ll definitely be going back to Geno’s soon!

Janice VWaltham, Massachusetts
February 2015

My husband and I went there on Wednesday, and we were seated within 5 minutes, the waitress was fabulous, and the atmosphere was so wonderful. They played great music where you could eat and talk, and have a good time like: Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, (The Rat Pack) and Michael Buble, etc. The food was over the top! We will be stopping by again next week, great place to come and relax and enjoy a fabulous meal in a great dining setting, and the prices were great as well. A win win in our book! :)

Deb S.Plantsville, CT
3/20/2015

I've been to Geno's in Storrs and have had great experiences so I thought I would try their new location in Southington. I am so happy I decided to do that because I loved everything about it! The service was prompt and friendly. The menus in both locations are pretty similar, but this one has different pizza combinations, so I tried the wild mushroom brick oven pizza. I cannot believe goat cheese, wild mushrooms, fig & rosemary work so well with one another. Every bite left me with a wide smile on my face. I finished every slice without a crumb left to spare. Happy that their second restaurant is doing well so far, will be back!

Janice V.Gaithersburg, MD
3/10/2015

I have been there four times - each time as good as the first. In general, I am impressed by the well-designed interior, great food and friendly service. The atmosphere is relaxed, but classy - an eatery where one can feel at home with a burger and brew or a tenderloin with fine French wine.

The salads are world class with the kale arrangement being a knock out. For openers, though initially surprised by the subtle mint flavor, I enjoyed Geno's meatballs. The pasta fagioli and calamari with Fra Diavalo are as good as the best I've had.

To date, I've tried the New York Strip, the braised ribs, the chicken Florentine and the salmon - all superb. I have had the pizza and some of the pasta dishes at the Storrs location, so I imagine they are equally good here, but I am watching my carb intake so when I dine out, the bread that comes with dinner is enough - and in Southington, they serve fresh Italian bread with a saucy, buttery spread that is too addicting.

Lawrin R.Bloomfield, CT
3/21/2015

My husband and I took our friends who were up from Virginia the second day the Southington restaurant was open.

We all got something different to eat. Everything was very good. Our friend Jim got the short ribs and said if he had to sum it up in one word, it would be "Awesome." He let us all have a taste. Wow.

I wish I had had more room for dessert. We'll be going back soon!

Vivian LaRose

Went to dinner Thursday evening with my wife granddaughter & her husband had reservations got there place was packed. Game our name we were seated right away.To make it short & sweet; Will go back first chance we get.

Loutamb

Was passing through Southington and decided to go into Geno’s Grille on a whim. We ended up being really happy that we did. We shared the mussels appetizer and each got the seafood linguine! A must-try restaurant if you’re ever in the Southington area.

Sbsantoro

Was passing through Southington and decided to go to Geno’s. We ended up being really happy that we did! Great wine list and great way to start off the meal. We ended up sharing the mussels appetizer and each getting the seafood linguine—clearly we love our seafood! A must-try restaurant if you’re in the Southington area, very impressed!

varitek33Boston, Massachusetts

Being a new restaurant we went expecting that they would still be tweaking their operations but not the case here, we found the food to be very good, prices were extremely reasonable and the service from the hostess to the waitress was exceptional!

Linda RSouthington, Connecticut, United States

Three of us decided to try Genos' and stopped by for a late lunch. Nicely greeted at the door and seated quickly as it was after the lunch rush. Very nice ambiance! ...Pleasant and helpful, he took our drink orders as we decided what to get. First we were served a basket of bread(toasted just a bit too crunchy/hard, but still good) and a small dish of a pepper "relish" to spread on it, which was a nice way to start. After hearing the specials, I decided on the bruschetta as an appetizer, with a nice chicken liver pate with pistachios, topped with frisée, and as the entree, the kale salad. I had it topped with salmon, which you can do for an additional price. I requested the salmon be cooked medium, which it was! Many times I have been served overcooked fish when I have dined out and this was not one of those times! It was perfect, with crispy skin outside and a juicy moist interior. One friend got the lasagna, which he said was average but tasty and another got the same salad I did, which he enjoyed. We split the canolli(2 in the order) and berry panna cotta for dessert and... We were told they have a chocolate cake to die for...maybe next time!

Nan0341Meriden, Connecticut

Sick of the cold winter doldrums my wife organized a Friday dinner that soon blossomed to us and 3 other couples. We made reservations for 7:15pm and were seated after just a few minutes as the place was packed. Service was pretty good considering everyone was new. Waitress didn't quite know many items on the menu and the specials were brought to table on a chalk board instead of being recited by waitress but we ordered apps, which were brought out promptly and then placed dinner order... At one point Geno's son Michael came by, introduced himself, explained how they partnered with other investors and apologized that the kitchen was a bit behind but the chef didn't want to rush things...

Meals were all very good ranging from classics like Veal Parm to a grilled salmon. Prices were reasonable and it was a very warm boisterous atmosphere. Even though Geno is coach to the best women's team in basketball it was not a sports bar but a nice establishment to enjoy food and drink. Also the Geno Rosso Puglia wine was fantastic. I usually avoid celebrity named wines but it was just the perfect match to the food, with enough earthy character and dried fruit to match the meal.

Arch57Berlin, Connecticut

My wife and I and 2 friends went to Geno's Grille in Southington last night and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, but the most enjoyable part was our interaction with our server, Lisel. She is a gem. I have been to restaurants all over this country and Europe, and this young lady is the best waitress/server I've ever had. By the time we left, she felt like one of the family. She was funny, a little sarcastic (but in a funny way), and very knowledgeable about the food . We will definitely return, and definitely want her to serve us. Go huskies.

Tom Doyle

I recently had the opportunity to dine at Geno's new Southington location (while visiting from Boston) and the experience was fantastic! The food was artfully prepared and seasoned perfectly. We savored every last bite and shared the following dishes amongst our table:

  • Antipasto Salad
  • Baby Kale Salad
  • Crispy Skin Salmon
  • Beef Tenderloin w/ Herb Butter
  • Chicken Limone
  • Bruscetta of the day (which was Chicken Liver Mousse)

My only regret is that we didn't save room for dessert and enjoy Geno's famous dark chocolate cake. We'll definitely be making another trip back.

Christina V.Wellesley, MA

New to the downtown Southington scene. I was eager to try Geno's as soon as I heard the rumors of it coming to the area. Great drink menu to go along with an above average "Italian" menu. Carbonara was spectacular. Quite possibly the best I've had with the exception of NYC restaurants. Loved this place and can't wait to return. Highly recommended.

Alex C.Avon, CT

My husband & I went to Geno's last night. We also went last week and are going back tonight! Last night we had the antipasto plate which had the best Italian meats and cheeses! The calamari is so crispy and delicious served with a fra diavalo sauce! We were anxious to try the veal francese, but it wasn't on the menu, so we asked Dave if they could cook it for us and of course they could! It was out of this world, served with tiny brussells sprouts and fingerling potatoes! The best we ever had in any Italian restaurant! The tiramisu for desert was so light and delicious! Geno's son, Michael, is so gracious and doing a spectacular job running the restaurant. Paul, also a partner, is so wonderful and making sure everything is running smoothly! We are so delighted that Geno's Grille decided to open up in Southington!

Carole Z.Bristol, CT

Had lunch there today with my husband, and due to the weather conditions, the restaurant wasn't as busy. The food was delicious. Had the arugula salad & pizza and one of Geno's wines. Very impressed with the service and the quality of the food. Can't wait to bring friends there for dinner next time. Thank you to Paul for the complimentary meatballs, best ever and the mozzarella & tomatoes. My husband said the mozzarella was as good as the one his father used to take him to as a child in Staten Island. Welcome to Southington!

Gloria B.Southington, CT

Being originally from Southington and a huge fan of the UConn Huskies, I definitely wanted to try this place out when I heard it was coming to town. I heard about the soft opening that happened a couple weeks ago from my yoga instructor. She said they basically served every appetizer there and that each guest chose their own entrée to try.

For a Friday afternoon, this place was packed. Granted, it was only about two weeks since the grand opening so everyone wanted to try it out and the majority of the people there were from Southington's 60+ age range. The atmosphere was nice (very similar to Bonterra's, the restaurant that was there before Geno's opened). There was soft music and a buzz of a busy restaurant. At least two people from my graduating high school class worked there (also very common for restaurants in town).

My dad and I started off with the Mussels appetizer and it was amazing! We usually try this sort of dish wherever we go out to eat and my dad is pretty critical of it. The homemade sausage that accompanied the mussels is really what did it for me! They were very tasty and went great with the light tomato sauce and mussels. I would definitely get this again!

For my entrée, I got the pasta carbonara. It was very creamy compared to most other carbonaras and pretty delicious... My dad got the gnocchi, which was really tasty and unique. The sauce complimented it well and the gnocchi themselves were really soft and tasty. It came with some pulled pork and broccolini to top it off.

We finished the meal off by sharing the tiramisu, one of my favorite desserts. It was very yummy and I would get it again! Really a classic when it comes to Italian cuisine.

Kelley H.Berkeley, CA

This place is an amazing new restaurant in Southington. You walk in and the work they put into the place was very apparent as it looked great. They've got a great bar with plenty of big flatscreens to check out a game and they have a great private wine room. I was there with my wife and friends and we started out with the burrata, antipasta and arancini...all 3 were incredible! We also started out with some cocktails but decided on wine with dinner...they have a great wine list and we got a recommendation from one the their managers that turned out to be great, everyone at the table loved it. I got the veal marsala which was a large porterhouse cut and was cooked perfectly.

We left with really nothing bad to say - the staff were all very nice, knowledgeable and accommodating, prices reasonable and the food/drinks were great.

will absolutely return and hope to do so asap!

Travis M.Boston, MA

Just had birthday dinner & cocktails at Geno's. Great meal: had the risotto special--fabulous! Michael sent over birthday dessert on the house, class act. Waitress Michelle was super. Looks like it's going to the new "Cheers". We'll be back soon!

Audra A.Southington, CT

For a new restaurant, we had a pleasant time and enjoyed the food and found the prices reasonable - so a 4 star to get them going. Hope they keep it up...

So you walk in and are immediately greeted by a very friendly hostess. We like to sit at the bar and were greeted by not one, but three folks including the general manager...

The service was fine, we watched the new folks being coached by the more experienced staff, but everyone was friendly, relaxed and engaging. Kudos to the young man who was running the food from the kitchen to the bar - he did not just drop and go, He checked in and made sure all was ok!

The food was tasty! I tried the spaghetti and meatballs as I wanted to try the signature sauce sold by the restaurant's namesake. I enjoyed it...

My wife had the chicken florentine with prosciutto - excellent.

We decided to try dessert and coffee. Loved the good brew from the french press...

We will be back and look forward to trying more of the menu options.

Larry S.Cheshire, CT

Went to Geno's for dinner and drinks with friends. Was immediately impressed with the look of the restaurant when we walked in. The place is very inviting. They boast an impressive wine and liquor list, and at very reasonable prices.

The food was unreal. We started with the antipasto and arancini. Both were outstanding, the arancini especially with the melted cheese in the middle. For dinner I had the short ribs and my girlfriend had the risotto. Mine couldn't have been any more tender and the glaze on it was fantastic.

The waitstaff were all very welcoming; we didn't feel rushed at all and overall very good service. We look forward to trying different dinners and wines upon our return.

Lee E.Pomfret, CT

Hours

Kitchen Hours

Sunday: 11:00AM - 9PM
Mon-Thurs: 11:30AM - 9:00PM
Fri-Sat: 11:30AM - 10:00PM

Shopping cart is empty.